Gluten free foods are the talk of every town and the reason is not ‘latest trend’. It is rather because of a disease, Celiac that is on a hike these days. People suffering from this disease are allergic to gluten, a compound found in wheat, barley and rye. Once diagnosed, you are put on an anti-gluten diet for life long. That sounds scary, isn’t it? People who have been recently diagnosed might be having a tough time to accept the facts and will be taking the whole diet change thing as a threat. You can opt for the gluten intolerance diet to have a holistic approach towards the new path. To make choices easy, we have brought to you some tips that will help you adjust to the new scenario of life with ease.
Read Food Labels
The packed foods have a labeling of allergens and other ingredients embossed on the backside and can be referred to check whether it is suitable or not. Big brands will always mention such ingredients no matter how little the amount is used. So make a habit of always going through the labels before buying any packed food items.
Gluten Free Alternatives
Breads, pasta and crackers have gluten in them but you don’t really have to eliminate these delicacies from your diet. Don’t believe us? You can always opt for the gluten free varieties in your favorite items and enjoy every bit of them. Just be very careful while picking these things and make sure they don’t contain even a pinch of gluten.
Naturally Gluten Free Foods
Not all foods will contain gluten so you don’t always have to be on high alert while eating. Foods like fruits, veggies, meat, fish, poultry, eggs and cheese are naturally free from gluten. So these can be included in your diet on an everyday basis. These are safer options than those which may or may not contain gluten. Though you could consult your doctor and check for other allergies!
Also Read: The Indian Diet Plan To Lose Weight
Gluten Free Cereals
Just because some cereals contain gluten, doesn’t mean that you will be devoid of cereals completely. Naturally gluten free cereals are an option for you. The list contains corn, millet, quinoa and many more. But before you decide on piling them up in your pantry, just check the labels for uncontaminated versions. Double checking and surety is the key here!
Choosing The Right Alcohols
Many people end up ruining their efforts of restricting to gluten free foods by consuming the wrong alcohols. Not all alcohols are harmful but some of them are a strict no no in the gluten free diet. These include, beer, larger, ales and stouts. Though the gluten free varieties of beer are available in some stores, be very careful in buying and do check labels. Wine, sherry, cider, port and spirits are safer options.
You might be choosing your foods with careful consideration but might not be alert for cross contamination. A small amount of gluten that you may consume from butter with bread crumbs on it, or chopping veggies on shelf where the normal bread was cut can cause symptoms. Using separate spreads and washing shelves can reduce your risk of cross contamination.
Pasta sauces, stocks and gravies have a high tendency to contain wheat flour for the thick consistency. This implies that they will contain gluten and hence not suitable for you. Check labels for the gluten free varieties or you could even put in some efforts to create your own sauces. You could use potato starch or cornflour to thicken them instead!
Go for these tips to make your new diet plan more comfortable and practical for you. Some people tend to put on weight by eating different cereals on a regular basis to avoid wheat. You can opt for gluten free diet plan for weight loss to tackle that situation while keeping the symptoms at bay!